Long time no blog!

Long-time no blog! Two years later and I’m back, I’ve worked my socks off for the last couple of years and got a place at the Theatre School I want to go to so now it’s time to relax and get back to blogging. Since I last posted I’ve not stopped travelling at all, in fact I have managed to tick off a couple of my bucket list experiences and places. Before I left the blogging community I posted about planning my trip to the USA, this adventure happened and it was absolutely amazing! (I will do many many posts about the different states I visited and what I experienced in each.) For now though here are the states I visited in the summer of 2015:

  • New York
  • Washington
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Wyoming
  • Colorado
  • Nevada
  • Arizona
  • Utah
  • California

Delicate Arch at Sunset

I spent a month in the USA, two weeks were with Trek America (http://www.trekamerica.co.uk/) and two were just me and my flatmate and we planned those ourselves. We explored all sorts of places including; Seattle, Yellowstone National Park, Las Vegas and Arches National Park.

Next stop was Budapest, which is a very architecturally beautiful city. I stayed in this crazy party hostel and explored both the city and its night life. I only spent a couple of days there but I would definitely go again. Post to follow.

Budapest city shot

A few weeks later I then flew over to Iceland, February 2016 and spent a week in the beautiful snow. I went on a tour of the Gold Circle, visited blue lagoon and I even got to see the Northern Lights! It was a jam packed week but an amazing adventure. Northern Lights spotting advice to follow!

Iceland snow shot

After my amazing 2015 experience in the USA, I went on to apply and be offered a job as Head of Costume at a Performing Arts Camp in New Milford, Connecticut. I spent two months working there and having the time of my life before travelling for a month afterwards. I scheduled that month carefully and planned around specific times so I could go to events in certain states and meet up with certain people. I’m planning on doing a post about scheduling and planning travel in order to attend events in specific states rather than just the popular tourist sites. Let me know if this is something you are interested in hearing about, I planned a trip around things like a concert, the Utah state fair and rodeo. Those three months were absolutely unbelievable, I have made lifelong friends all over the world and when I was offered the job for summer 2017 I jumped at it. So guess who’s going back to the USA for the third summer in a row! I am very very lucky and it’s only doable because of my extreme budgeting and planning which makes it affordable. These are the states I visited summer 2016:

  • New York
  • Connecticut
  • Massachusetts
  • Illinois
  • California
  • Nevada
  • Arizona
  • Utah
  • Wyoming
  • South Dakota

Yosemite

A future post I plan to write will compare my 2015 experience of travelling with a company to my 2016 experience of planning it all myself. It is interesting to see the difference in price, experience you get and which I preferred.

Soon after I got back I began working for CCUSA, the company that sponsored my visa to go to the USA to work. They are an amazing company and help place you at the summer camps in the USA. If you want to have the best summer ever, travel, make friends and get paid here is a link to their website: http://www.ccusa.co.uk/

Last of all and most recently I went to Venice for a weekend with my sister, we spent a few days exploring, catching a lot of water taxis and gorging on pizza and pasta. It was great fun and was exciting to plan a trip together.

DSC00616

This is a brief overview of what I have been up to for the last few years, but each of these trips will be written up in detail with lots of travel advice and tips on getting there. If anyone has any requests or suggestions let me know!

Leave a Reply

